Monday, January 5, 2015

Nominations Still Sought

At the annual Fort Wayne Symposia on the Lutheran Confessions (20-23 January 2015 at Concordia Theological Seminary) the editors of Gottesdienst will be meeting to determine the next bearer or the Sabre of Boldness. Send in your nominations now! Submit a signed nomination to Fr. Eckardt via e-mail (click here).  

The award is given “For conspicuous gallantry and intrepidity on behalf of the Holy Church of Christ while engaged in the confession of His pure Gospel in the face of hostile forces and at the greatest personal risk.” State the name, address, and telephone number of the nominee and the reasons why he or she is a fitting choice for Sabre Bearer.  The degree of the adversity, steadfast resistance to pressures to compromise, heedlessness of threats, and a clear confession of faith are considered.  The slate will close on Tuesday, January 20th

For reservations at the Gottesdienst Hotel, click here by Wednesday, January 7thor call 260-484-0411 or toll free 855-322-3224; ask for the group rate for Gottesdienst.

The Sabre ceremony is in its twentieth year.  The list of recipients is below.
Bearers of the Sabre of Boldness
1996  The Reverend Peter C. Bender
1997  The Reverend Jonathan G. Lange
1998  The Reverend Dr. Edwin S. Suelflow
1999  The Reverend Gary V. Gehlbach
2000  The Reverend Peter M. Berg
2001  The Reverend Dr. John C. Wohlrabe
2002  The Reverend Erich Fickel
2003  The Reverend Dr. Wallace Schulz
2004  The Reverend Charles M. Henrickson
2005  The Reverend Edward J. Balfour
2006  Bishop Walter Obare
2007  The Reverend Dr. Ronald Feuerhahn
2008  The Reverend Aaron Moldenhauer
2009  The Reverend Juhana Pohjola
2010  The Right Reverend Dr. Paul Kofi Fynn
2011  The Reverend Brian Saunders
2012  The Reverend Paul Rydecki
2013  Mrs. Katie Schuermann
2014  The Reverend Michael Brockman

No comments:

Post a Comment

Comments are moderated. Neither spam, vulgarity, comments that are insulting, slanderous or otherwise unbefitting of Christian dignity nor anonymous posts will be published.