Wednesday, January 4, 2012

Sabre of Boldness Nominees Sought

Nominations for the 2012 Sabre of Boldness Bearer are invited.  The award is given “For conspicuous gallantry and intrepidity on behalf of the Holy Church of Christ while engaged in the confession of His pure Gospel in the face of hostile forces and at the greatest personal risk.”  Please submit a signed nomination to Fr. Eckardt via E-mail.  Simply state the name, address, and telephone number of the nominee and the reasons why he or she is a fitting choice for Sabre Bearer.  The degree of the adversity faced by the nominee, a demonstration of steadfast resistance to pressures to compromise the truth of the Gospel, heedlessness of threatened personal consequences, and a clear confession of the truth at stake are considered.  The slate of nominees will close on Wednesday, January 18th, 2012.  Then the editors of Gottesdienst will meet privately to make their selection.
 The Sabre ceremony is slated to be held Thursday night, January 20th, following the symposium banquet, at La Quinta Inn and Suites, on 2902 East Dupont Road in Fort Wayne.

Sabre of Boldness Recipients
1996 The Reverend Peter C.  Bender
1997 The Reverend Jonathan G. Lange
1998 The Reverend Dr. Edwin S.  Suelflow
1999 The Reverend Gary V. Gehlbach
2000 The Reverend Peter M. Berg
2001 The Reverend Dr. John C. Wohlrabe
2002 The Reverend Erich Fickel
2003 The Reverend Dr. Wallace Schulz
2004 The Reverend Charles M. Henrickson
2005 The Reverend Edward Balfour
2006 Bishop Walter Obare
2007 The Reverend Dr. Ronald Feuerhahn
2008 The Reverend Aaron Moldenhauer
2009 The Reverend Juhana Pohjola
2010 The Right Reverend Dr. Paul Kofi Fynn
2011 The Reverend Brian Saunders

No comments:

Post a Comment

Comments are moderated. Neither spam, vulgarity, comments that are insulting, slanderous or otherwise unbefitting of Christian dignity nor anonymous posts will be published.